It’s never too late to learn

I’m trying to start-up a Virtual Assistant business and there are so many things to learn.  I’ve learned I need to join VA Networking sites – done; LinkedIn – done; set up a Twitter account – done; an office with a laptop and WiFi – done; most importantly create a website – ongoing; learn from videos and webinars created by established VAs – ongoing; find my niche – ongoing.  You wonder is there enough hours in the day?  And yes, there are if you manage your time efficiently.

My work career has spanned two countries, Australia and England, in a variety of fields.  The question I ask myself is, “do I want to focus on transcription and formatting or utilise the skills I have acquired as an Executive Assistant?”

Working as a temporary employee gave me the confidence to believe in my ability to accomplish any task required of me.  It is a wonderful confidence boost, to be asked back by the companies that have employed you as a temp.  Working with senior management reinforced my understanding and utilisation of confidentiality.  As an FOI Officer, research and drafting replies, I had to communicate with applicants and staff for an honest and legal response.

Studying through the University of Tasmania from last year doing an “Introduction to Family History” which honed my research skills; followed by “Writing Family History” improving my writing skills.  I have found I’m loving doing something I hated as a child and teenager – study!

This brings me to “where to from here?”  I have a lot to offer and deciding on which skill to focus on and not making a wrong decision isn’t easy.  A lot depends on the potential client’s needs – why say “I’ll do accounts” when they need someone to arrange their appointments?

The night is late and not the right time to make a decision.  Let us see what the morning brings.

Leave a Reply

